Archive for April 30th, 2007

A good review on Finance and Development

April 30, 2007

Well as tomorrow and day after are holidays May 1- Maharashtra Day MAY 2-Buddha Purnima, Buddha Jayanti, I won’t be blogging on these two days.

Well, as I mentioned in my previous entry finance has generally been ignored by most economists writing about growth.

Ross Levine has written an extensive survey looking at how finance effects development and has done an excellent and a very extensive literature survey on the subject. Find it here. He as I mentioned previously, as has also written a short version of the survey but doesnt explain the role of finance in development as extensively as he does it here. No wonder it is 118 pages long.

This topic on development is quite engrossing and I keep wondering how best can someone try and tie all the strings together. Let me try and do something about this. Keep visiting…

Assorted Links

April 30, 2007

I realised today morning that blogger has been banned in the office. Hence have shifted to wordpress which is quite decent but I liked blogger better.

It was a nice weekend. Alumni meeting on Saturday and a wedding on Sunday. Hence could not read much but here are some good links I read today morning:

1. A debate on effects of trade: There is a ferocious debate on the bolgosphere by some prominent economists on the effects of trade on the economy. It was started by Dani Rodrik and since then has been commented by economists including Mankiw, Krugman etc. Read about a summary of the debate here and here I would post my commnets on the same after understanding the whole idea.

2. More On Hedge Funds Fees

3. In US, Institutional Investors are now looking incrasingly at public infrastructure. An interesting story here

4. Have Chinese Scholars been bought?

5. Gender bias in Tariffs?

Update: Read this stirring speech by Mani Shankar Aiyar. We all know it is true but for it to come from a Cabinet Minister tells me that all is not lost in our country and we have some hope left.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,208 other followers