Some facts about Clark Medal and Nobel Prize

Just carrying on with the Clark Medal, I thought I would share some trivia and facts. As Clark Medal is supposed to be for economists under 40, one of the things to see is how many get Nobel finally. Here is a factfile:

  • There are 58 nobel winners so far
  • There are 29 clark medal winners
  • Out of 29 clark medal winners only 11 have got a nobel so far…(38% conversion rate… pretty impressive)
  • Clark started in 1947 and Nobel in 1969….so a gap of 22 years… the fact is that till 1969 Clarkies had already produced 7 future nobel winners!!!
  • Infact in that gap of 22 years, there were 10 clarkies (none was awarded in 1953) and seven went on to win a nobel !!! 70% success ratio
  • Post 1967, the number of clarkies winnining a nobel has been just 4 out of a total of 19 winners a ratio of just 21%
  • Out of 58 winners so far, 42 were associated with US Univs at the time Nobel was awarded….72.4%!!So to say Nobel is panglobal is not really working.. well what can nobel committee do… all top guys and thinkers seem to be in US…
  • It shows nothing but their productive Univs 9 from Uchicago, 4 from UCB, 4 Harvard, 4 columbia, 3 Cambridge (last in 1995)
  • Average & mode age -67, median age-66
  • It takes roughly 22 years of waiting between clark and nobel
    Arrow took the least time between clark and nobel (15) and Tobin and Solow 26…
    Arrow is the youngest (but obvious) to have won a nobel (just 51) .. he still holds the recors… and nobel committee is widely cricticised for giving him a nobel alongwith Hicks… he deserved it all alone…!!!!
  • Merton 2nd youngest at 53, His mentor Samuelson at 55, Scholes at 55…One can imagine the impact Black Scholes Merton model had on fin markets….
  • 3 guys in 80’s gto the Nobel- Schelling (game theory) , Wickfrey (famous for his work on auctions), and Coase (never calls himself an economist.. but what impact…)
  • all fin eco guys were either 66 or below (Both Modgillani and Miller were 67…the oldest of the lot.. funny the guys who contributed the most recognised at last)
  • And plotting the ages gives a somewhat normal disitribution…..!!!!

Here is the full list of Clark Medal Winners who got the nobel as well. The year ahead of name is Year when Clark is given. If the nobel is given, the year is followed after the name..

1947 Paul A. Samuelson 1970
1949 Kenneth E. Boulding
1951 Milton Friedman 1976
1955 James Tobin 1981
1957 Kenneth J. Arrow 1972
1959 Lawrence R. Klein 1980
1961 Robert M. Solow 1987
1963 Hendrik S. Houthakker
1965 Zvi Griliches
1967 Gary S. Becker 1992
1969 Marc Leon Nerlove
1971 Dale W. Jorgenson
1973 Franklin M. Fisher
1975 Daniel McFadden 2000
1977 Martin S. Feldstein
1979 Joseph E. Stiglitz 2001
1981 A. Michael Spence 2001
1983 James J. Heckman 2000
1985 Jerry A. Hausman
1987 Sanford J. Grossman
1989 David M. Kreps
1991 Paul R. Krugman 2008
1993 Lawrence H. Summers
1995 David Card
1997 Kevin M. Murphy
1999 Andrei Shleifer
2001 Matthew Rabin
2003 Steven Levitt
2005 Daron Acemoglu
2007 Susan Athey
2009 Emmanuel Saez

9 Responses to “Some facts about Clark Medal and Nobel Prize”

  1. Behavioral Economics: 2 different streams of thought « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Rabin (Univ of California, Berkeley, Clark Medal Winner […]

  2. Why wasn’t Alban William Phillips given a Nobel Prize? « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] checked his birth details, born in 1914 and dies in 1975. He was 61 when he dies. So by Nobel Prize standards, he was quite […]

  3. Predictions for Nobel Prize for Economics 2008 « Mostly Economics Says:

    […]  I have a post analysing the Clark Medal and Nobel Prizes. Interested readers can take a look […]

  4. Mejores C. Recetas Says:

    The radio is quite impresive, so we should narrow down to a list of clarkies that have not yet won the nobel, and that should be a good candidates list! 🙂


  5. Mago Says:

    Clark started in 1947 and Nobel in 1969….so a gap of 22 years… the fact is that till 1969 Clarkies had already produced 7 future nobel winners!!!


  6. Fischer Black Prize - a victim of this crisis? « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Fischer Black Prize – a victim of this crisis? By Amol Agrawal Today (24 April 2009) AEA would award the John Bates Clark Medal. It is given to the most budding American Economist under age of 40. WSJ Blog has a list of probable candidates (two of them have done most of their research on India). The award has moved from being a biennial event to an annual one. So, now we would have superstar economists every year (see my research on the relation between nobel prize and clark medal here) […]

  7. Nobel Prize for Economics 2009 Predictions « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] on the list. Moreover Rabin is just about 46 now and as per Nobel Prize winners’ age is too young for the award. But yes whenever behavioral economics is awarded next, Rabin would be a strong […]

  8. Clark Medal 2010 predictions « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Check out this list of Clark and Nobel prize Winners […]

  9. Facts Says:

    Did you know that Nikola Thessaly refused the Nobel Prize, because he had to share with Edison, who owed him 50,000 dollars and that he never paid.

Leave a Reply to Nobel Prize for Economics 2009 Predictions « Mostly Economics Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: