Two more prominent awards for Economics

Univ of Chicago has given 9 Nobel Prize Winners as per Nobel Prize Committee list (They basically see what Univ is one at at the time of award, so someone who gets an award when he is at MIT but has taught earlier at Univ of Chicago, The committee would cite MIT in its award). This press release from Univ of Chicago tells me till 2004, out of 55 Nobel laureates 23 were associated with Univ of Chicago either as students, associate professors etc. This is quite a number.

Thanks to Economic Principals, I just came to know about 2 more awards:1. Bernácer Prize : awarded by Observatory of the European Central Bank given to European Economist under 40 (similar to Clark Medal). Given every year and is named in honour of Germán Bernácer (1883-1965), the first Spanish economist who made significant contributions to the development of macroeconomic research, the BERNÁCER PRIZE was established in 2001 to recognise the work of young economists from the European Union and to stimulate research on European macroeconomics and financial issues.

There have been 7 winners so far:

Again 3 out of 7 are from Univ of Chicago!! Another thing to note is that where as we have only one woman who has won the Clark Medal. here it pretty Even-Stevens.

2. The Elaine Bennett Research Prize : Awarded by American Economic Association (the one that also gives the Clark Medal) and is awarded every other year to recognize, support, and encourage outstanding contributions by young women in the economics profession. Elaine Bennett, made significant contributions in economic theory and experimental economics and encouraged the work of young women in all areas of economics.

The winners:

Out of the two lists I have only read Esther Duflo( just a bit though) and Luigi Zingales (a little more) . Duflo focuses on development research and Zingales on Financial Economics.

Zingales is a star and his research work on financial markets is quite extraordinary and always provides a lot of food for thought. He has written extensively with Raghuram Rajan and together have written some landmark papers on capital structure, impact of finance on growth, underdevelopment ( I mentioned about their work here and here). His/Their work is a must read for all looking at finance as their careers.

4 Responses to “Two more prominent awards for Economics”

  1. Bernacer Prize 2007 to Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Like Clarke medal which is given to American Economists under 40, Bernacer Prize is given to promising European economists under the age of 40. The list of previous winners is here. […]

  2. Elaine Bennett Research Prize for 2008 to Amy Finkelstein « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Bennett Research Prize for 2008 to Amy Finkelstein By Amol Agrawal I had pointed about 2 relatively unknown awards for Economists. One of them is Elaine Bennett Research Prize […]

  3. Marcus Brunnermeier gets Bernacer 2008 « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] Marcus Brunnermeier of Princeton gets the Bernacer award for 2009 (see previous winners’ list here). It is the European equivalent of Clark Medal awarded to promising European economists under age […]

  4. Why europe based economists prefer to study/work in US? « Mostly Economics Says:

    […] all still far off from what US offers. What could be a better fitting to this article than the Bernancer Prize. Just like Clark Medal, it is awarded to europe based economists under age of 40. If you look at […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: