UID’s Aadhaar vs Rajasthan Govt’s Bhamashah Scheme

It is far more interesting to see what different States are trying to do. We are trying to move to a more Federal model with States doing many things independent of the government. Powerful CMs are leading the way. Another things about state developments is it keeps the stock market hype away. But at the same time the flavors keep changing with some state/states seen as a major reformer at some period to be replaced by a new set later.

As State of Rajasthan is the flavor of the month, here is another interesting program from the Raje govt. This one is called Bhamashah identity card program. It is different than Aadhaar  as here each card will have a mandatory bank account and can only be operated by women  in the household. The scheme was announced in the earlier Raje Govt. to be scuttled by the next Gehlot Govt only to be revived by Raje again.

The PM recently announced a scheme for financial inclusion upped by Raj CM via the Bhamashah scheme:

 

If the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) plans to give numbers to all Indian residents, the promises to go a step further with a card for all female heads of households, to empower them financially.

Chief Minister launched her ambitiousin Udaipur on August 15. The basic difference between the Aadhaar and the state government plan is that the Rajasthan scheme will come to beneficiaries with a bank account.

While Aadhaar is later linked to beneficiaries’ bank accounts, the Bhamashah scheme is a card that comes with a bank account number registered in the name of the female head of the family. Her biometrics are recorded and only she can withdraw money. The process of collecting biometrics has already started and the state government is hopeful of finishing the entire exercise before the end of March.

“We want to put everything on the card. This includes schemes like health insurance, pension, the ration card and other similar things. Each family will be given a card,” Raje told Business Standard.

Raje said the Bhamashah plam had originated between 2003 and 2008, her previous term as chief minister. “We covered five million people under the scheme; this time, we are doing it for everyone in the state. If an individual wants a card, he needs to pay a paltry Rs 20-25. It is a family card but it will be operated by the woman head of the family,” Raje said.

The article lists compares Bhamashah card over Aadhaar and former has some interesting plus points with a more flexible architecture (which can change addresses easily), empowering women, all Raj govt schemes included right away, lower costs and so on.

Will be interesting to see how and whether Aadhaar  has a role to play in the State or not. Will other states too bite the identification bullet and build such programs? There is little doubt that States can identify people much better than Centre but this leads to much more confusion as multiple cards proliferate. Each time people migrate from one state to another, different cards will be needed.

Another uncomfortable thing is govts again getting close to banks. I hope we have figured this relationship between state and banks. Attempts have been made in the past to financially include people but has only been converted to loan melas and cheap credit.

17 Responses to “UID’s Aadhaar vs Rajasthan Govt’s Bhamashah Scheme”

  1. manju devi Says:

    my bhamashah acount no not riched place my acount no.

  2. monika tailor Says:

    how can I check if my bhamashah card is generated or not.

  3. samim rathore Says:

    my bhamashah acount no not riched place my acount no.
    how can I check if my bhamashah card is generated or not.

  4. seema gautam Says:

    my card is not ganreted plz.my card enrollment no.1207-30qn-26433 date 19 01 2015 plz send my card my home adrees,

  5. sawan kumar purohit Says:

    how can I check if my bhamashah card is generated or not.

  6. Gyan Singh Khatana Says:

    MY BHAMASHAH CARD NO IS (2036-BWUU-25168) HAI PLEASE MY CARD TO MY HOME ADRESS.

  7. prem shanker Says:

    sir
    bhamashah card mai head ko change karana hai koi soluatin
    batao

  8. laxmikant sharma Says:

    sir my bhamashah card not receive my bhamashah receipt n- 9999-1-236-00024 may i want my card at home address

  9. Minakshi jain Says:

    sir my bhamashah card no. YOCYGOC he.
    but is me bank a/c detailed wrong he.
    me ise kis tarike sent edit kar sakta hoo.
    please help

  10. jaikee bairwa Says:

    sir my bhamashah Rg no. is not accept in portal scholarship so pls give me solution plsssss…….. last 31 jan tk plssss…… 1067-MT28-22641 pls give me solution on this no 7062382572

  11. Rohit mahawar Says:

    my bhamasha card is not coming. please wants to bhamasha card

  12. chhatra mohan sharma Says:

    my bhamasha card is not coming. please wants to bhamasha card

  13. RAINA verma Says:

    my bhamashah card no is 9999-TOLG-00685

  14. LAL CHAND Says:

    I AM LAL CHAND BAIRWA MY BHAMASAHA CARD NO 0000111115897 BY MISTAK ONE MAMBER AD HONE SE RAH GAYA HAI PLEASE OPSTION BATAYO

  15. ajay shekhawat Says:

    sir my bhamashah card not receive my bhamashah receipt n- 9999HHTV00064 may i want my card at home address vill..lamiya sikar rajasthan mob 7568024625

  16. aadhaar card india Says:

    What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness
    of valuable know-how regarding unpredicted emotions.

  17. NAHAR MAL GURJAR Says:

    AADHAR CARD NAMBAR NIKALANE KE LIYE KYA KARANA PADATA HAIN

Leave a Reply

