New RBI MPC members appointed

After an avoidable delay, the Government has finally appointed the 3 external MPC members:

Prof Ashima Goyal (IGIDR)
Dr. Shahshank Bhide (NCAER)
Prof JR Varma (IIM Ahmedabad)

Interesting choices and adds to the diversity.

Prof Goyal is a critic of inflation targeting and now has to vote on how RBI should meet the inflation target. Dr Bhide is an agricultural economist and Prof Varma a financial economist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: